Install pip on Linux

I have been using Xubuntu 15.10 after passing through Debian, OpenSUSE and Fedora in the past few months. I can say that was pretty impressed by the latter and former. To this day my favorite one is Debian and the reason I installed Xubuntu on my laptop is because it saved me some time configuring it and has less bloatware than Ubuntu which sucks (not sorry).

Pip is the official Python package installer and the one that came with this distribution was quite old for what I wanted to do. Correction! This distribution didn’t have any pip installed so I tried through:

sudo apt-get install python-pip

or

sudo apt-get install python3-pip (if you use python 3.x)

To upgrade it, is through the command as shown:

sudo pip install -U pip

This way went amazingly well with Fedora 23, but not with Xubuntu.
So I went to this website, downloaded the file and ran the command:

sudo python get-pip.py

or

sudo python3 get-pip.py

If a warning message appears worry not. It is normal because when you use sudo you become root and this folder in question is your user’s folder.

And there you have it! The last stable pip release.

In the future I will write a post about using Virtual Environments and the efficacy reached with them using different python versions or even packages.

Leave a Reply

